DIY Lunch Sign

 

I may have a new piece of decor in my kitchen.  I saw this gorgeous sign in the kitchen of Kelley at The Polished Pebble.  As soon as I saw it I had to make my own.

I started to looked for a way to transfer an inkjet print out to wood.  I found a tutorial for this at Green Wedding Shoes.  I thought I would give it a try.

First I got a scrap piece of wood and cut it down to the size I wanted.  I was a little overzealous and painted it before taking this picture. Whoops!🙂

To give it a distressed look I brushed on waterdown black paint.  I added the non-watered version to the edges just like in the inspiration. Let it dry.

Now for the transfer part.  The tutorial I used told me to brush a thin coat of Elmer’s glue onto a piece of cardstock.  Once that had dried, I sent it through my printer.  I designed the lettering in Photoshop by just typing out the word lunch and then reversed the image so the transfer would work.  The black lines helped me to design the lettering to fit my board.  Once the design had printed I cut it out just inside the black lines.

 

Per the instructions, I brushed on a thin coat of Mod Podge onto the wood board. And then I put the print out facedown onto the wet Mod Podge.

Really press the print down into the wet Mod Podge and flatten it out getting rid of any air bubbles.  Make sure that your entire print is down in the Mod Podge. Then place a heavy object on your board and leave it for at least 8 hours. I left mine overnight.

The next day I ran the board and cardstock under warm water like the tutorial told me.  However, I was super impatient and started to pick the paper off.  I think that’s why I didn’t get the real nice transfer I was hoping for.  No worries.  I just filled in the letters with black craft paint.  I’m going to try this method again and hopefully I’ll actually follow the directions next time.🙂

Then I went ahead and used my sandpaper to sand the edges and lightly sand over the lettering to distress the sign a bit more.  Here’s how it turned out:

{ in the window }

{ on the (very dirty) coffee maker }

{ sigh. love it }

So what do you think?  Do you love it as much as I do?  I’m going to give the transfer method another try.  Hopefully I’ll follow directions next time🙂

Lots of Love,

Erin

3 thoughts on “DIY Lunch Sign

  1. sara says:

    Visiting from the party at A bowl full of lemons… Your sign looks terrific! I love the vintage feel of it and the tip to transfer ink onto wood is awesome. Great job!!

    sara @ applestonedrive.blogspot.com

  2. Mari says:

    I found you on Pinterest and just wanted to say thank you for sharing this! I used this technique on one of my projects and I must have not waited enough before removing the paper either because some of the ink came off too but I left it that way because I kind of liked it. Thank you so much for sharing this!!

    -Mari

Leave a Reply

