Crate and Barrel Circlet Stand Knock Off Tutorial

I was flipping through Crate and Barrel’s website and I saw their Circlet Stand and immediately thought it looked like an embroidery hoop. Since I have a bunch that I’ve been collected for an art display in my daughter’s room if we ever move, I decided to give it a try. Here is my inspiration:

{ via Pinterest }

Crate and Barrel offers these in 3 sizes with prices ranging from $50-70. Granted theirs is made of handwrought iron. But mine looks metallic thanks to spray paint. Onto the tutorial!

I got my supplies together. The inside circle of an embroidery hoop, a wooden plaque, a piece of dowel, wood glue and spray paint! That’s it! This project actually cost me nothing as I had all these materials on hand!

First I removed the center circle from the embroidery hoop by loosening the screw clamp thing.🙂

Apply a bit of wood glue to the outside of the hoop where you want your dowel to be.

Put the dowel into the glue and hold it there. Or do what I did and use tape to hold it up until the glue dries.🙂

Find the center of the wood plaque and drill a hole the size of your dowel. Fill the hole with glue.

Insert the dowel into the glue and allow it to dry completely. When dry, find your favorite metallic spray paint and paint away. I used Krylon’s Oil Rubbed Bronze. It turned out awesome… Until I tripped, fell and dropped it. The hoop fell off. I almost cried. But then I whipped out the hot glue gun and fixed it in no time flat! Yay!

Now that it’s all fixed and dry it’s time to style it with your favorite accessories!

{ I love the modern hoop art paired with the vintage camera }

So…What do you think? Will you be making one for yourself? Hope you liked my tutorial!

Lots of Love,

Erin

Shared at:

 

UPDATE: Oh my goodness! Beckie has honored me once again and featured the Circlet Stand knock off on Knock Off Decor! Thanks, Beckie!

20 thoughts on “Crate and Barrel Circlet Stand Knock Off Tutorial

  1. LOVE it! Brilliant! It looks great in your space too.
    xo,
    Shannon

  2. Liz says:

    Great idea, and it looks so simple! I may have to try this myself!

  3. […] Erin from Life is Like a Bowl Full of Cherries saw the Circlet Stand from Crate & Barrel, she knew she could easily make her own with an […]

  4. Awesome idea! TFS! I saw the C&B versions in the 3 different sizes, I see a cluster in my future decor. Love it!

  5. You are a brilliant, mad-scientist genius. And my new hero. So glad I found this site. I’m doing cartwheels in my head.

  6. judi says:

    VERY clever!
    stopping by from knock off decor.
    judi

  7. LOVE this idea! It looks so expensive, it’s amazing that you made it with an embroidery hoop! SO cool.🙂

  8. Carol says:

    Wow, awesome work. So nice to be able to get the same look at a fraction of what these companies try to charge us.

    I’ll be keeping my eye on you for any other great ideas you come up with🙂

    Carol

  9. Okay, and now another awesome easy peasy project that I must insist you link up and share with my readers at our “It’s a Cinch” link!
    🙂

    Linda

  10. […]  Geometric Circle Stand {Crate & Barrel Hack} ~ Here’s a great Crate & Barrel hack of their Geometric Circlet Stand! Seriously simple and […]

  11. […]  Geometric Circle Stand {Crate & Barrel Hack} ~ Here’s a great Crate & Barrel hack of their Geometric Circlet Stand! Seriously simple and […]

Leave a Reply

