Cherry Blossom Painting Tutorial

As promised here is the tutorial for the cherry blossom painting I mentioned here. As I said previously, I already had the canvas so all I needed was more craft paint (yes, I need MORE paint no matter what my husband says ;))

First I tried to draw the tree out with a pencil. But that didn’t workout so well. So I threw caution to the wind and just started painting. I’m such a dare-devil.๐Ÿ™‚

Once the brances were dry I moved on to the flowers. I used two colors of pink for my flowers: a darker pink and a lighter pink. To make the flowers I started by using a small stencil sponge brush and painting 5 circles really close together. I sprinkle them all over the canvas to whatever was pleasing to my eye. I liked it but I thought it needed some smaller flowers too.

Well, necessity is the mother of invention. Since I used my smallest stencil brush to make the “big flowers” I used both my fingers and even the handle of the sponge brush to make the smaller ones.๐Ÿ™‚

For the center of the flowers, I used my fingers again. The dark pink flowers got the light pink center and vice versa.

I thought the flowers needed a little something more. I broke out a teeny tiny paint brush and some yellow paint. Inside the center of the flowers I painted 3 yellow dots. Just the pop it needed!

Once I was done I couldn’t even wait for it to dry before hanging it up! I carefully carried it upstairs and hung it on my wall. Definitely brightens up our room!

What do you think? Going to attempt this project yourself? I’d love to see how it turns out!

Lots of Love,

Erin

Shared at:

2 thoughts on “Cherry Blossom Painting Tutorial

  1. Roeshel says:

    You’re so creative! The colors are perfect for your room!

Leave a Reply

