Monogrammed Acrylic Tray Tutorial

I feel like I’m cheating on this one. Seriously. Could. Not. Be. Easier.

I have found like a zillion gorgeous lucite and acrylic trays around the Interwebs for crazy prices. Like this one from Jonathan Adler for $98! $98? Really?

{ via Pinterest }

{ 1 – via Pinterest | 2 – via Pinterest via Etsy }

Crazy, right?

Even these great DIY projects used $20-40 trays to start out with!

{ via Pinterest }

{ via Pinterest }

I decided I would figure out how to complete this project for less and $10 and I did!

I went to Hobby Lobby armed with my 40% off coupon and bought the biggest box frame they had- 11×14. Normally $6.99 I used my coupon and got it for around $4. I chose the largest size because of how I wanted to use it. But the smaller size frames could definitely be used to corral Q-tips and cotton balls in a bathroom, lose change and keys in an entry or perfume bottles on a shelf.

As for the print, I loved the design of Chelsea from Two Twenty-One so I used her as my inspiration. I went to my favorite source for awesome patterns and designs – Sprik Space. Aimee offers lots of free, downloadable patterns and printables – go check her out!

“I dropped it into an 11×14 Photoshop document and added my monogram. I then saved the document as an 11×17 and sent it to my local Office Max print center. The girls (Hi Sarah! – yes I know them all by name :)) printed it, cut the excess off and then laminated it for me. The total cost for the print: less than $4.

The print and lamination made the print slightly too big for the frame but that was easily remedied by cutting it down with a paper-cutter.

Next I took the cardboard backer out of the frame. Don’t through it away though! Upcoming project…

I added tape to the back of the print to make sure it stayed down in the tray. Feel free to use double-sided tape but I of course, could not find it. This house seems to be a tape and scissor vortex… Anywho!

Place the paper into the tray and press down to secure the tape. And please ignore my beat up hands and lack of manicure, mkay?

And there you have it! A gorgeous monogrammed tray for around $8! Now your tray is ready for you to add your favorite accessories!

And the best part – if I get tired of the print I can just make a new one. Or to really change the look do something like this:

{ via Pinterest }

Take out the print and using your Silhouette machine (see! I do need one!) to cut out your monogram from vinyl or even contact paper.

Having a party? Change the liner to match your theme. Seriously, this tray can be used anywhere. Coffee table. Bathroom counter. Nightstand or dresser top. Everywhere!

Anyway, as always I hope you enjoyed this tutorial! If you end up making one of these trays let me know. I’d love to see what others come up with!

Lots of Love,

Erin

Shared with:

 

UPDATE: Oh my goodness! Beckie has honored me again by featuring my tray tutorial on her awesome site, Knock Off Decor! Thanks, Beckie!

21 thoughts on “Monogrammed Acrylic Tray Tutorial

  1. [...] room needs a pop of color amist the gray of winter.  With the new canvas, new pillows and the snazzy acrylic tray hanging out at the end of my bed  it’s definitely getting colorful in [...]

  2. What a great idea! So cute!

  3. New to your blog. This is SUCH a great idea!!! Pinning for future reference!

  4. D'Arcy says:

    Love this! I have also been turned off by the high prices of lucite trays and I really love the look of them. This is such a great idea, can’t believe I didn’t think of it, and can’t believe you turned a what could have been a $75-$100 purchase into an $8 DIY project! Plus you can change the look of yours anytime you want… bonus points.

    Found your project on iheartorganizing! Happy Sunday! :)

    • I know! The prices are crazy! When I saw the frames at Hobby Lobby put two and two together, I won’t lie. I did a happy dance. :)

      Thanks for stopping by! Come back again!

      Erin

  5. I’ve seen those expensiive trays and always wanted one, but wasn’t willing to pay $$$! Your idea to use a frame is genius! Thanks for the inspiration, it turned out fabulous!!

  6. Megan says:

    I love trays and especially acrylic ones! I really wish I had photoshop so I could make one though. I tried with Picnik and it worked ok, but the monogram isn’t as pretty. Yours is great!

  7. [...] Erin from Life is Like a Bowl Full of Cherries created an acrylic tray for less than $10 that is both easy to make and versatile. Erin is oozing with ideas of how to put this baby to use! She says, “I love mine. First I had it on my dresser holding brooches and jewelry. Then on my side table holding a book and my reading glasses and today it lived on the end of my bed like a little tea tray in a fancy chic hotel. Who knows where it will end up tomorrow!” [...]

  8. Genius! Way to think outside the box. :)

  9. Abbie says:

    So clever! I did something similar with a plastic tray I purchased at Ikea for $2 for a bday party- just used scrapbook paper to line the inside of the tray and I’ll recycle it (since I imagine it will be dirty) after the party and store the trays for the next party and do it all over again! Best wishes!

  10. [...] you have looked through my archives and were able to see my gorgeous monogrammed acrylic tray tutorial.  If you haven’t yet, go now.  Go ahead.  I’ll [...]

  11. Ashleigh says:

    Um. You have just made my whole life. Thank you so much for this tutorial. Seriously been wanting a lucite tray for so long. Could not justify it!

    I am your newest follower!

    I just started my blog. Will you come on over and check it out? My first post was a tutorial on how we painted our countertops :)

    Thanks again for this!!

  12. [...] tutorial que encontrei foi no – Life is like a bowl full of cherries uma dica mega simples de como fazer! A Erin (do site) comprou uma impressão e colocou seu [...]

  13. [...] tutorial que encontrei foi no – Life is like a bowl full of cherries uma dica mega simples de como fazer! A Erin (do site) comprou uma impressão e colocou seu [...]

  14. Catherine says:

    Friggen GENIUS!!!! WOW!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

