{ Pinterest Thursday: } Anthropologie Spark Light Bobbies

Ok. I know it’s Saturday but I am just too excited to hold onto this until Thursday. Let’s call it a bonus, mmmkay?

I was looking around on Anthropologie and saw this little hair clips. adorable, right? But $20 for two clips is a bit crazy in my opinion. So off to Hobby Lobby I went. I spent less than $5 and I made 6 clips with extra supplies left over. Here’s what I used.

I actually already had the hair clips but I know there are $3.99 so use one of Hobby Lobby’s famous 40% off coupons. You can also find these at a beauty supply shop. The ribbon I had on hand also. I bought a quarter yard of pink, blue and gold sequins trim. At less than $0.50 I should have bought every single color. These happen to be in the trim by the yard section but I also spotted sequins ribbon available on the roll for $4.99. So in total I spent a whopping $1.50 for 6 clips for me and my daughter!

OK. Here’s how I did it.

I used this tutorial from The Green Wife as a guide for how to make the ribbon wrapped clip. It’s really easy. Holding your clip open but a little dab of hot glue, put your ribbon on, go down one of the arms of the clip, glue, go up the other side of the arm, glue, over the sprint, glue, down the opposite arm, glue, then back up into the clip and finally glue. Hard to explain. She does it better. Promise.🙂

I attached the sequins to the ribbon at the spring first. Just a small dab, hold it for a second and then continue on. I did this so the entire clip was sparkly. A girl can never have too much sparkles.🙂

Then I put a bead of glue down the top of the clip and attached the sequins. Then I trimmed the sequins so that it was just slightly longer than the clip. I added a little hot glue and wrapped it into the open mouth of the clip to make sure the end was “sealed” and no sequins would come off looking like pink, sparkly dandruff.🙂 Let the clip dry and pop that baby in your hair.

And now repeat the project for 5 more clips. It’s addicting! Picture overload ahead:

And now beauty shots for the gold and blue ones.

Work it, girl!🙂

Cute and sassy at the same time.

Sorry for the crazy hair.🙂

Now I know that Anthropolgie used gold and black but my hair is kind of too dark for the black and it would blend in. Plus I wanted to share these with my daughter and she loves pink. I can’t wait until ballet on Wednesday to see her in her fancy new clippies. So so cute!

Thanks for reading! I hope you like my tutorial!

;;;” target=”_blank”>The DIY Show Off

Lots of Love,

Erin

Shared at:

2 thoughts on “{ Pinterest Thursday: } Anthropologie Spark Light Bobbies

  1. Amanda says:

    I hope your daughter is less destructive than mine. Lol… Peg won’t keep anything pretty in her hair for more than 30 seconds. She wants to yank it out to look at her Pretties!🙂

Leave a Reply

