Waiting…

Today I had a dentist appointment.  I got their early just like they asked and the dentist ended up running late with another patient.  No biggie.  I had my iPhone so I was looking around on Pinterest and daydreaming about what COULD be.

The truth is, I’m really frustrated.  As I mentioned previously, our house has been on the market for nearly a year.  Our first realtor, was a great guy but a really crappy realtor.  He did basically nothing. We had maybe 6 showings in the 6 months he had listed our house.  He was all about the Open House.  So almost every single Saturday for 6 months I would scrub my house hoping that a buyer would be walking in that door. Never happened.  He assured us it would happen so we let ourselves look (and fall in love with) a house.  I dreamed about that house every night.  Where my furniture would go, what colors I would paint the walls. I even had a PowerPoint presentation with a slide for ever room of the house with pictures and ideas of what I wanted that room to look and feel like.  Our contract ended with Realtor #1 and we were heartbroken and frustrated.  While we were waiting someone bought “our” house.

Come December after we had licked our wounds we decided to try again. This time with a new realtor.  We chose him because he had sold a house down the road from us fairly quickly and was known for his “get is sold” abilities. We’ve been on the market for 82 days now. Lots of showings but no offers. Our showing Saturday? Loved our house but ended up loving a house around the corner even better. Heart breaking.

I can only liken having your house being on the market to being on a blind date and having him never call you again.  Or more accurately having a one night stand with a potential buyer and they’re gone before you wake up in the morning.  My house is sort of like an injured bird that I nursed back to health (except now the pesky bird won’t leave me the #&% alone).  It was broken and dirty and ugly when we bought it but since then we have poured our blood, sweat and tears into it.  It went from cold dark shell to a home.  Our home.  And after 2 children and 2 dogs, it’s suddenly too small.

A friend from my MOMs group recently listed her house just around the corner and last night they received their first offer.  I won’t lie.  I cried myself to sleep.  So happy for them and hopefully their sale goes through but at the same time so so sad.  Another home sold before mine.  So while my little house sits here, racking up the Days on the Market and I scramble to get it showing ready every week I really just want to cry. We found a house.

We didn’t mean too and believe I tried to talk myself out of it but we found Her. She’s a 4-bedroom 1917 American Foursquare.  She has lovely wood trims, a gorgeous brick fireplace and after some TLC would be the house of my dreams. My husband laughs.  A big reason why we want to move is to reduce our mortgage payment allowing us to payoff our debts and then in a few years build.  That was the plan. But then I found Her.  And now he picks on me that if we bought Her we’re never leaving Her.  He might be right. But unless we sell our current house we’ll never even to see Her.  I’m superstitious and crazy and while I am *DYING*  to go inside and see past the terrible MLS pictures I am too scared to go.  What if we see it and I love Her more than I do now only to have someone buy it? I’ll be heart broken.  But on the other hand will the regret of not seeing Her eat at me? I could go and see it and have my rose colored glasses taken off by an off putting smell or something carefully cropped out of the realtors pictures. Sigh. Not sure what to do.

Her realtor emailed me.  She’s available for showings this week. When’s a good time for us.  Not sure what to say.  A big (and growing!) part of me wants to tell her to meet me with the keys in 5 minutes.  The more practical (and annoying) side of me says to wait until our house is sold. You can’t buy it, don’t torture yourself. Ugh. Ugh. Ugh. I hate waiting. There’s no iPhone of life to distract me as I sit here in the waiting room, wondering when’s my turn with the doctor.

Lots of Love,

Erin

Leave a Reply

