{ Pinterest Thursday: } Anthropologie Inspired Inital Stand

I love Anthropolgie. I too have an eclectic and quirky style. But seriously, their prices are kinda crazy. When browsing their website I found this beyond gorgeous printers stand. Apparently lots of people shared my admiration for the stand because it’s popped in the background of pictures all over blogland. The picture below hails from one of my favorite blogs, The Pleated Poppy.

via Pinterest

I loved the simplicity of it and knew I could easily make it myself. Here’s what I did:

You notice I said I didn’t end up using the silver craft paint (more on that later). Instead I used Hammered Finish spray paint from Krylon. Also not pictured, wood glue.

Ok. First have your lovely husband (or if you’re brave enough you can do this yourself) cut the dowel the length that you want. Mine is approximately 9-inches long.

While he’s at it, have him find the centerpoint of the scrap wood and drill a hole in the wood. Repeat the process on the wooden plaque.

Next, fill the hole with wood glue and insert the dowel. Make sure that the dowel is straight and set aside to allow the glue to dry completely.

Now let’s talk about the craft paint and its epic fail. I painted the entire letter and the stand. Unfortunetly, the paint color matched the natural color of the chip board – a flat, bleh gray color and not metallic as I had hoped. Next I tried it on the dowel and plaque. I’m not sure if there was some sort of finish on them or what but the craft paint ended up very runny and watery even though I shook the paint really really well. Sigh.

Oh well. On to Plan B: Good ole spray paint! Don’t worry. The Little Caesars pizza box is totally optional.πŸ˜‰

Since I wanted a more brushed look to my “metal” I used a foam brush to wipe away some of the paint leaving behind these really awesome brush marks. Then I let them all dry.

Next, I got out my stain and applied it to the scrap piece of wood. The stain i used was Rustoleum Ultimate Wood Stain in Dark Walnut. It is totally awesome. This was my first time using stain and I will definitely be using it again!

I used my foam brush to apply the stain and then immediately wiped the stain off. The wood I used is pine and according to my husband it really sucks up the stain. Not wanting my wood to be too dark I tried to be super fast in wiping it back off. I repeated this process on all the sides as well.

Once all is dry it’s time to put it all together. Literally. I used wood glue to first attach the silver letter.

Make sure the letter is centered on your wood and allow it to dry. More waiting for glue to dry…

Luckily, the glue doesn’t take long to dry and we can finish up our project!πŸ™‚

I found that laying the project on it’s side to dry was easiest. I had my wood piece sitting on a Frosty lid to keep it all lined up (just keeping it real, people).

Let the glue dry completely and then enjoy your new favorite home accessory! I’ve tried mine all over the place so far. Can’t decide where I like it the most. Oh, decisions. Decisions.πŸ™‚

HookingupwithHoH
The DIY Show Off

UndertheTableandDreaming

*-*-*

UPDATE: Oh my goodness! I am a lucky girl! I’m so honored my project was featured on Knock Off Decor! Thanks, Beckie!


Lots of Love,

Erin

9 thoughts on “{ Pinterest Thursday: } Anthropologie Inspired Inital Stand

  1. […] Erin from Life is Like a Bowl Full of Cherries recreated an Anthropologie letter stand that she loved for only a few dollars. You may even be able to pull this project off for free if you’ve got some scrap wood, stain, and paint on hand. Erin says, β€œIt might just be my favorite piece of home decor in my house. Well… at least until my next project! ” […]

  2. Donna says:

    Hi Erin! I saw your feature at Knock off Decor. I love this project. So simple but such a wonderful piece! I am adding this one to my project list. Thanks for a great tutorial! Congratulations on the feature!

  3. Roeshel says:

    I love it, Erin! Great tutorial too! (and “B” is our letter too!).
    Thanks so much for sharing your creativity!πŸ˜‰

  4. Lindsey says:

    I love your blogπŸ™‚

  5. […] Update: I was so surprised this morning to see that my Anthropologie Initial Stand was chosen as one of Flamingo Toes Crush of the Week!Β  Oh my goodness!Β  What an honor! If […]

  6. […] our bedroom. In the family room. On the mantel (see anything familiar? ) But I think on our landing might be my favorite […]

Leave a Reply

