Shelfish Ways

When we bought our house in 2006 it had an absolutely horrible kitchen.  The cabinets were cheap and half of the shelves were broken. We knew it had to go.  It took us about 3 years but we finally managed to complete the gut job right before my daughter was born.  I loved our new kitchen.

We purchased our kitchen cabinets from IKEA – they’re the ADEL,  completed assembly and installation ourselves with the help of my father-in-law.  Almost 3 years later they still look brand new (with the help of my bestie).  My one complaint, not enough shelves in the cabinets!  Each cabinet came with one or two shelves depending on the shelf so we had to stack things such as casserole dishes and coffee mugs. We had lots of those weird plastic covered wire riser things too but the handles of the casserole dishes would get caught and  it made making dinner a real pain in the bum.

This weekend I was laying in bed trying to figure out how to add more shelves without more of those wire riser thingies.  The shelves the cabinets came with were white melamine and I remembered seeing melamine shelves at Lowes when we were there for supplies for my Pinterest Thursday project (it’s a good one!).  I asked my husband to buy one and then cut it to size to fit in the cabinet.  Back to Lowes we went (I’ve been there 5 times this weekend – no joke). He made the shelves to fit my 3 of the cabinets that are the most full (coffee mugs, spices and casserole dishes cabinets). Since these three cabinets all happened to be 12″ wide and 12″ deep the cutting and measuring was a cinch! We went and got the shelf (less than $13 for 12×72″ I believe it was) and using an existing shelf from the cabinets as a template, Hubby cut the shelves.  He then used his router to cut little notches on the bottom for the little pegs the shelves sit on.

The whole project took maybe 30 minutes at the most and made my life a whole lot easier.

{Like my Eeyore mug?}

So for less than 30 minutes and under $13 bucks we have a way more functional kitchen. Woo hoo!

Lots of Love,

Erin

P.S. Want a sneak peek of Thursday’s project?

Get out your wood glue!

One thought on “Shelfish Ways

  1. […] I mentioned, shortly after moving in we gutted our kitchen. We gave away most of the cabinets except for the tall pantry cabinet. That lived in our garage […]

Leave a Reply

