{ Pinterest Thursday: } Vintage B Wall Art

I love the House Tours that John and Sherry have on Young House Love. For me, it’s the less creepy equivalent of driving through a neighborhood at night and peeking through lit up windows. :)

Nearly a year ago, I saw Melissa’s house tour I fell in LOVE with her gallery wall an especially the vintage looking letter she had. She bought it from Ross but we don’t have a Ross here so we made it ourselves!

We went to Lowes and bought a piece of pine. The piece we bought wasn’t very thick and I really wanted it to be thick like Melissa’s. How do we do that? Glue and clamps! We started by sawing the board in half and then applied a hole lotta wood glue to one half. We stacked the other half of the board on top of the glue and used clamps to hold the boards together tightly. We left them in the clamps for about 24 hours just to be safe.

In the meantime I colored the back of the letter I had printed with a pencil (my super secret transfer method ;)). I used Photoshop to make my letter fit an 11×17 sheet of paper.

I flipped the paper over and pressing firmly with a pencil I traced the letter. I checked periodically making sure the transfer was going through.

Here’s what it looked like when I was done transferring. I went over the any light spots so we knew where to cut.

My hubby was kind enough to cut the letter for me using the Jigsaw.

I applied some stainable wood filler to any gaps or gashes in the wood and allowed that to dry.

After a good sanding the letter was ready for stain (hooray!), I used Rustoleum Ultimate Wood Stain in Paprika. I loved its warm, rich tone. Not too light. Not too dark. Juuuuuust right. :)

Usually I apply stain and then wipe if off but I really liked the way the stain without being wiped off. It may have taken longer to dry but achieved a richer stain color.

Once the stain was dry, I had fun staging it around the house.

{ on the wall }

{ leaning on a shelf }

{ and just for fun, how about on the stairs }

That last picture gives you an idea of the size of the letter. This thing is seriously huge. Here it is compared to the size of the kids toy basket! And apparently I need to vacuum. Sheesh!

I really loved it but felt like it needed something else. Melissa’s letter had lovely dark edges so I tried to replicate that using my Distress Ink (a trick I learned from Shelley at The House of Smiths)

I rubbed the ink pad on the edge and then smudged the ink with my finger. In the places where I couldn’t get the ink pad I would apply the ink to my finger and then smudge it on. I think it really make the letter look old and well-loved just like I wanted it!

There we go. Hang it on the wall when the ink has dried and adore it. So pretty!

So what do you think of my vintage letter? I seem to be on a monogram/initial kick lately. I have no idea why. Weird. Anywho, I hope you like this little tutorial and that you’ll attempt to make one yourself. If you do, send me a link or pictures as I would L-O-V-E love to see it!

Lots of Love,

Erin

Shared at:

4 thoughts on “{ Pinterest Thursday: } Vintage B Wall Art

  1. Lisa says:

    O love it, Good idea on making it extra thick. I like the chunkyness of it.

    • Me too!! I actually got the idea from Sandra at Sawdust and Paper Scraps. She did a similar thing to make her own corbels in her former craft room. I took a chance and tried it. Turned out awesome!

      Thanks for visiting my blog! Come back again soon!

  2. Ann says:

    This is a gorgeous and creative project. I love oversize letter art and this one is just wonderful. Much more wonderful than one bought from a craft store!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

