{ Pinterest Thursday: } Hanging Flower Vase

via Pinterest

The girls at Shanty 2 Chic always have such cool projects. When I saw this one on Pinterest I immediately Pinned and decided I needed to do this project right away. Their instructions are super easy to follow but I ran into a big giant road block with the bottle. After trying several types of bottles (Coke, different brands of beer, Jones Soda, even the bottle my Olive Oil comes in) I decided I needed to improvise. Here’s what I used.

I was able to find a piece of scrap pine in our garage so that was free and as I said, I had trouble with the bottle so I used two bud vases that I found hidden in the back of my cabinets. The Shanty girls also used 3/4″ split rings where as I used 1″ simply because my vase didn’t fit in the 3/4″ size.

We started in the garage. First, hubby cut the pine board into 2 14.5-inch pieces. He also cut the threaded rod into 2 pieces 3-inches long. After giving the boards a quick sand, I stained them with my favorite stain. Then it was time to assemble.

I started out by putting my split ring on the neck of the vase. Just unscrew the screws on the split rings, place the vase in the center of the ring and tighten the screws back up. Easy peasy.

I added a picture hangar to the back of the wood piece.

Then I assembled the metal pieces. The ceiling flange gets attached to the wood followed by the threaded rod into the ceiling flange. Lastly carefully attach the split ring and vase onto the other end of the threaded rod. Now pop some flowers into the vase and it’s ready for your wall.

;;”>

I put this one in my bedroom next to my mirror and I really love it. The warm wood with the metal really looks great and ties the other wood and metal pieces around the room.

Sigh. <;3

Truth be told, I didn't just make one. I actually made 3. Two are the same vase and one with a slightly smaller vase. One of the long vases lives in my bedroom as you saw above. The other two currently live in my kitchen, right by the kitchen table.

I love that these two are different but similar. Every time I walk in and see them, I smile.

Hope you liked my take on Shanty 2 Chic‘s hanging vase tutorial!

Lots of Love,

Erin

Shared at:

10 thoughts on “{ Pinterest Thursday: } Hanging Flower Vase

  1. Meg says:

    These are great! I would love it if you linked up to my little party: http://www.nutmegplace.com/2012/03/showoff-saturday-4.html

    Hope to see you there!

  2. Cait L says:

    Totally pinning this! I love it!

  3. Roeshel says:

    I love it Erin! So cute!

  4. Danni Baird says:

    That is so clever! Thanks for sharing it!

  5. Ivy says:

    Love this! I also saw this on Shanty 2 chic and thought it was a great idea. I like your version a lot. I think you did a great job!
    Really cute blog, I’m glad I found it! Hope you’ll come check out mine sometime.

    New follower

    Ivy @ a dash of domestic

    • Thanks for stopping by Ivy! Glad you liked my tutorial! I’m really enjoying my vases.

      Stopped by your blog too. Love your twine vases. Might need to steal that idea! If you don’t mind. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

